Howdy pardner!

These here forums are read-only. Click here to go to the new forums, where you can actually post and stuff!

Sorry for the inconvenience

-Andrew

I wanted to say I fell across Classicube and found the idea pretty interesting.

A friend of mine set up a quick test server and we had some fun building stuff on it. And nostalgia, too.

And damn, does it run well. That friend of mine ran the server on a Raspberry Pi. No lag. All smooth.

So uh, I'm StapleButter, coming from ROM hacking boards. I started playing Minecraft around 2010 if I remember well, and really enjoyed it back then. I had also introduced my sister to it, and we'd spend all-nighters joining random Classic servers to build stuff and talk about whatever.

Then eventually I've been introduced to Minecraft Alpha. God was it addictive. But over time, it got old. Minecraft drifted from its roots, becoming more of an RPG thing and too realistic to my taste. For example, newly generated terrains tend to be flat and boring unless you play with the generator. And hunger combined with realistic mob spawning/breeding is pretty much what killed the fun for me. You spend the first days ingame starving. Too much realism kills the fun, as brillantly shown here: http://www.cracked.com/article_21031_5-hilariously-failed-attempts-at-video-game-realism-pt.-2.html

What else is there to say? I like this forum software. It's clean, light, not one of those vBulletin boards. Is it custom? I'm into custom board softwares too. Acmlmboard is the one that gets my love.

'Don't have too much fun' -- This is quite an unusual introduction message, but uh, I'll try. :P